A Personal Message To My Biological Father…

Dear Biological Father,

I want to thank you for being absent and for not having a major part in my life. I want to thank you for all the garbage you sent my way when I was growing up. I want to thank you for putting all of your energy into making my mom look like the worse person ever when you could’ve spent that energy getting to know your son. I want to thank you for saying in court that I wasn’t your son. I want to thank you for showing me your true colors when I reached out and asked for your help in early-2011. You have no idea that all of those things would not break me down and send me down a path of destruction as much as you hoped and imagined. You have no idea that those things would motivate me to do well and to do everything to the best of my abilities so I can get what I want out of life. 

I have to tell you, you MISSED out on getting to know a very good, creative, driven, and successful guy. Yes, you did. I graduated from high school, I served eight and a half years in the United States Army (Which included a deployment to Iraq in 2005 and getting promoted to Sergeant in 2006), I earned an Associate’s Degree in July 2012 and I’m graduating again in July 2014 with a Bachelor’s degree. I’ve never been to jail and I don’t have children all over the country. I’m living proof that the actions of the absent, biological father CANNOT and WILL NOT stop a child from growing up, doing great things, and will continue to do great things despite those actions.  Take care.

 

Sincerely,

The son that you missed out on knowing and raising 

 

Leave a Reply

